Bridges

A bridge is a structure carrying a road, path, railroad, or canal across a river, ravine, railroad and other structures. A bridge connects one side to another. I can easily remember the different kinds of bridges I passed over by different types of vehicles, bikes, motorbikes, by foot and on. They were from a simple one creek bank to another, one side of the river to the other, and from island to another. The bridge allowed me to go from one place to another that would normally have been more difficult or impossible. These are bridges we see everyday in some form or another, but I want to talk about invisible bridges to our physical eyes. Let us walk together with the eyes of perception and ears of understanding across the unseen bridges we unknowingly cross over.

Have you ever asked yourself “what am I?“, “what am I meant to be?“, “what good am I?“, or “what am I suppose to do“? You have tried all kinds of different things with this quest and searches unknown to others. If you have lived long enough you have struggled yourself or encountered people with sexual problems either of mind, body or both. You may have seen those who are impure in their language and their thinking. You have probably met those who go over board with different kinds of self sensual pleasures using whoever they want to get their needs met. You have seen or met people who worship famous people, movies, or powers of the earth (crystals, witchcraft, new age…). I have met those who just love to hate on others, sow discord/problems, eaten up with jealousy, throw fits of rage by themselves or objects. I know you have seen and even been touched with the selfishness this life. You have seen and possibly  been a victim by clicks, groups, factions, and members only. I know I have left out some others like envious people, alcoholic people, and drugs. I will leave the rest of the list up to you.

You may be asking yourself “what does this have to do with bridges?” Bridges connect from one side to another. They allow passage from one place to another. They join things that were once not connected. What does sexual immorality, impurity and sensual pleasure; idol worship and witchcraft; hatred; discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy, drunkenness, and other things of the like (Gal. 5:19-21) have to do with bridges?

You and I are bridges. People around us are bridges that are unseen by the physical eyes. We were born into this world automatically being connected to the people around us. As a child family, friends, neighbors, strangers, and classmates were bridges connecting themselves to us whether we welcome them or not. People every day connect their bridges to you with the attempt to pass from their life island to yours the things they are focused on. The words they speak if it is garbage, negative, positive, or treasure it is attempting to pass from them to you through your ears whether you accept or not. The words have been sent across the bridge to you irregardless. People attempt to pass their stuff from themselves to you using different methods whether you are conscientious of it or not. If you are like me you have already thought of some people attempting to push their stuff over on you, good or bad.

“What am I?“, you ask. You are a bridge. I am a bridge. You are reading this as it comes across my bridge to your eyes and ears. Your mind is sorting out these words. You are judging these words to be good, bad, helpful, hurtful, crazy, or makes sense. You also are giving to your family things of yourself knowingly or unknowingly. I had a friend whose dad verbally abused and physically abused his mother with an explosive type anger in front of him and behind closed doors. Before I knew this about “The Bridge” I told him his anger could be like his dads if he was not careful. I called it a seed back then, but today I see a bridge from his dad joining his son, crossing over into his son heart, and planting that seed in his son’s impressionable young mind and returning back over the bridge continuing the bad example. What comes out of your mouth? What kind of facial expressions do you give to people? What actions do you take with personal intentions in mind? What kind things said to you cross over from others to you? What kind of body language do you see people sending your way? What do people around you do with their personal intentions in mind towards you? Wow, we are all bridges passing over all kinds of things daily to people, animals, technology devices. Yes, social websites are tools we use to bridge ourselves to others and the masses.

“What am I?“, “what am I meant to be?“, “what good am I?“, or “what am I suppose to do“? I got tired of the things people sent my way. I got sick at what I saw in my life that I was giving to others. Betrayal crossed over the bridge and stabbed me in the back. Revenge and hatred crossed back over my bridge to others. Experimentation crossed over from other people’s bridges to my island body. Things started passing from my bridge to others who were innocent. Pretending to love you and using you came across the bridges into my life. On my island walls started going up. Hatred start festering with evil intentions. Deception of pretending to be best of friends crossed over the bridge even after letting the walls down for a little bit. The love for animals was more than the love for people inside my island. I closed off to people all the while they were still trying to bridge their stuff to me. I hated people s stuff coming across their bridges to me and I was sick of myself for the things I sent across my bridge to innocent people I could never take back or erase. This is where “The Bridge” of ALL bridges sent over to me “You have tried everything else – try me“. I said to myself and to “The Bridge”, alright I will.

I was sick of evil and being evil, receiving evil and sending evil across the bridges to and from others. Are you tired of people pushing their ideas over their bridge to you? Do you think there is more to this life than what you see everyday? Do you want to change what you receive from others across the bridge and what you send out over yours? This is how I got the answers to “What am I?“, “what am I meant to be?“, “what good am I?“, or “what am I suppose to do“?

The Bible was now allowed to cross over my bridge to talk to my mind, heart, and soul on a trial basis. People were still people attempting to bridge their stuff from themselves to me, but I wanted nothing to do with man’s thinking. I wanted God and His Bible to cross over my bridge into my understanding and perception. People that go to church does not mean they are perfect inside and send only good stuff across their bridges. Whatever religious people sent across their bridge to mine about God I had already decided it had to line up completely with God and His Bible crossing His Bridge or it would not be allowed inside my island.

An example, I had someone tell me that no one in the entire Bible was baptized in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost. I allowed that to cross over the bridge and I was nice in return over my bridge. I went home to be alone with my friend, the Bible and God to let Him cross over His bridge to me and show me His truth. I searched, studied, and prayed. In the end I found my best and most trusted friend, the Bible/God, that no one was baptized in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost, but the only accounts of water baptism was in the name of Jesus Christ. I then allowed and opened my heart (walls came down) to this as truth that crossed over the bridge to me, but I still did not allow that person  full access across the bridge to me. I encourage you there is nothing wrong with guarding your bridge to your heart, mind, and soul. Make sure what people send across their bridge lines up with the Bible completely. I was re-baptized in the name of Jesus Christ because I read in the Bible, my best and trusted friend, that in Jesus name my sins were washed away. What a great feeling and peace of mind.

Now, what I want to cross over my bridge to others is as much pure truth from God and less of myself in it as possible. My whole desire is to help people. I have chosen the number one desire to have God cross over my bridge and touch others with His changing second chance love that no man can offer or match. It does not always happen that way because I am human and I fail, which I try to make my failures less and less in the hopes one day I may reach that beautiful place called heaven free from failure. My prayer is that when people see me that they see Him, hear me – hear Him, and touch me – feel Him. I am still tired of evil and I want nothing but good to cross my bridge to others.

Allow the wisdom from above to cross over the bridge filling you with its purity, peace, gentleness, easy to be applied, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality (favoritism), and without hypocrisy (falseness) James 3:17 in your life. I hope when people look across their bridge to you they see the Spirit of love, joy, peace, tolerance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control, which against such things there is no law (Gal. 5:22, 23). May God be allowed to cross your bridge bless you and change you.

Leave a Reply

